Recipient of the President’s “E” Award

The President’s “E” Award was created by Executive Order of the President on December 5, 1961, to afford suitable recognition to persons, firms, or organizations which contribute significantly in the effort to increase United States exports.

The President’s “E Star” Award, which was authorized by the Secretary of Commerce on August 4, 1969, affords continuing recognition of noteworthy export promotion efforts.

U.S. Commerce Secretary Gary Locke today honored 27 companies and organizations that are recipients of the 2011 President’s “E” Award.  The “E” Award, which is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, is the highest U.S. government recognition any American entity may receive for supporting export activity.  

Through his National Export Initiative (NEI), President Obama has raised the importance of exporting U.S. manufactured goods and services to support America’s continued economic recovery and job creation. The “E” Award recipients are contributors to the President’s NEI goal of doubling U.S. exports by 2015, supporting several million American jobs. 

Share this post